In spite of no idea of athletics and discouragement in the earlier phase, Muhammad Anas makes it Tokyo Olympics 2020

Indian sprinter specialising in 400m, Muhamad Yahiya Anas was born on 17th September 1994. He hails from Nilammel village in the Kollam district of Kerala.


Anas picked up his interest in athletics at the early age of 10. He initially trained in the long jump, and changed to 400 m by chance, when his school team was looking for a last-minute replacement for a 400 m competition.


Anas earlier broke the national 400 m record at the Polish Athletics Championships in June 2016, clocking 45.40 seconds and qualified for the 2016 Olympics. He became the third Indian athlete to qualify for this Olympic event, after the legendary Milkha Singh (1956 and 1960) and K. M. Binu (2004).


He was also part of the relay team that broke the national 4 × 400 metres record in Bangalore and qualified for the Rio Olympics. The quartet of Anas, Kunhu Muhammed, Ayyasamy Dharun and Arokia Rajiv clocked 3:00:91. In the 2018 Commonwealth Games, he was placed fourth in the 400 m, while his men's 4×400 m failed to finish. But this didn’t stop him.  Later that year, Anas participated in the Asian Games and won Anas won three silver medals, in the individual 400 m, and men's 4×400 m and mixed 4×400 m relays.


 The Indian government conferred him the Arjuna Award in recognition of his efforts in 2019.


For someone who had never seen athletics till in his higher secondary school. And he who faced discouragement in various forms throughout his life and sports career, Anas will be representing India at the 2021 Tokyo Olympics. He will compete in 4*400m men’s relay and 4*400m mixed relay events. 


At Kailon, we believe that beauty transcends the product. It’s an experience crafted to bring about radiance and balance, empowering you to be the best version of yourself!

Kailon applauds Muhammad Anas’s true spirit of being a champion!  We wish & pray he finds his #thehappinessformula in his quest for success at the Tokyo Olympics 2020 and make India proud again!